Tampa DUI Defense Attorneys
Criminal Defense Lawyers Trusted Since 1997
In Florida, a DUI conviction can result in fines, driver’s license suspension or revocation, community service, probation, imprisonment, and the impoundment or immobilization of one’s vehicle. All Criminal Defense Law Group, P.A. represents people charged with DUI in Tampa and Florida statewide. We have the knowledge, skills and experience to mount a strong, viable defense at every stage of the criminal proceeding. Contact our Tampa DUI and drunk driving defense attorneys today.
If assistance is needed during regular business hours, please call 813-672-1900. Or if there is an emergency and you need to call after hours, weekends and holidays please call telephone number: 813-551-3903 for assistance.
What is DUI?
Driving under the influence (DUI) is defined as operating a motor vehicle while impaired with a blood alcohol level (BAL) of .08% or higher, a chemical substance, or a controlled substance. Because driving under the influence is so dangerous, the penalties for doing so are severe in Florida.
What are the Penalties for DUI?
DUI fines are a factor of number of convictions and blood/breath alcohol level. Even when a person has been merely arrested, but not yet charged for DUI, four conditions must be met before the person can be released:
- The person is no longer under the influence; and
- The person’s normal faculties are no longer impaired;
- The person’s blood/breath alcohol level is lower than 0.05; or
- Eight hours have elapsed from the time the person was arrested.
According to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, the following fines, community service, probation, and prison times can be given to those that are found guilty of driving under the influence of alcohol in Florida.
First DUI Conviction: With a blood alcohol level of 0.08 to 0.14, the fine shall not be less than $500 or more than $1,000. Prison time shall not be more than six months. With a blood alcohol level of 0.15 or greater or with a minor in the vehicle, the fine shall not be less than $1,000 or more than $2,000, and prison time shall not be more than nine months.
Second DUI Conviction: With a blood alcohol level of 0.08 to 0.14, the fine shall not be less than $1,000 or more than $2,000. Prison time shall not be more than nine months. With a blood alcohol level of 0.15 or greater or with a minor in the vehicle, the fine shall not be less than $2,000 or more than $4,000, and prison time shall not be more than 12 months. However, if the second DUI conviction is within five years, there is a mandatory minimum prison time of at least 10 days.
Third DUI Conviction More Than 10 Years From the Second: With a blood alcohol level of 0.08 to 0.14, the fine shall not be less than $2,000 or more than $5,000. Prison time shall not be less than 30 days. If the third conviction was over 10 years from the second, then the prison time shall be no more than 12 months. With a blood alcohol level of 0.15 or greater or with a minor in the vehicle, the fine shall not be less than $4,000.
In addition to fines and prison time, there is a mandatory minimum of 50 hours of community service for first time DUI convictions. The vehicle may also be impounded for varied allotments of time as well. And, anyone who is convicted of three DUIs within 10 years or causes serious bodily injury while intoxicated automatically gets convicted of a third degree felony, which is punishable by up to five years in prison.
Finally, even a first conviction will result in mandatory DUI school; driver’s license reinstatement will not be granted prior to completion. Contact our Tampa DUI defense attorneys for more information.
DUI penalties can increase steeply, depending on the severity of the crime. Severe DUI offenses may involve property damage, personal injury, repeat offenses, serious bodily injury, manslaughter, and vehicular homicide, charges for which include:
- DUI Misdemeanor;
- DUI Felony;
- Manslaughter and Vehicular Homicide;
- Boating DUI;
- Commercial Driver DUI;
- Aggravated DUI;
- Biking DUI;
- Underage DUI and
- Suspended License DUI.
Assistance with Your DUI Charges from an Experienced & Successful Tampa DUI Attorney
An arrest or conviction for DUI can result in fines, prison time, and the loss of the right to drive. If you have been arrested for DUI, contact All Criminal Defense Law Group, P.A. by telephone at 813-672-1900 or contact us online to schedule an appointment for an initial free consultation to obtain advice and representation from knowledgeable and experienced Tampa drunk driving DUI defense attorneys.
AFTER HOURS, please call 813-551-3903.