Burglaries in Central Florida are on the rise — and so is prosecution of alleged offenders. According to a summary by the Florida Department of Law Enforcement, reported burglaries have increased steadily since 2003. If you have been charged with burglary, All Criminal Defense Group can provide the vigorous representation you need.
If assistance is needed during regular business hours, please call 813-672-1900. Or if there is an emergency and you need to call after hours, weekends and holidays please call telephone number: 813-551-3903 for assistance.
What exactly is burglary?
Burglary is a type of property crime defined by the state of Florida as “unlawfully entering a dwelling, structure or conveyance (a car, truck, boat or other vehicle) with the intent to commit a crime inside.” Breaking and entering is a form of burglary. Another form of burglary, as described by the state, includes “lawfully entering a dwelling, structure or conveyance but remaining inside either surreptitiously (hidden) with the intent to commit a crime, remaining after permission has been withdrawn (in other words, you have been asked to leave) with the intent to commit a crime inside, or with the intent to commit a forcible felony.”
Do burglary, theft and robbery differ? Yes. Each has its own legal definition and its own set of statutes, and each is treated as a different crime by the courts.
What are the penalties for burglary?
Like most felonies — and in Florida, all burglaries are considered felony crimes — there are different levels of penalties depending on how the crime was committed, what the damage was and whether anybody was harmed:
All Criminal Defense Group fights for you against charges of:
- Burglary in the third degree — Leveled against those who commit the crime on a structure that is not a dwelling (such as a house, apartment or condominium) and that is unoccupied during the time of the offense. A conviction can carry a prison term of up to five years.
- Burglary in the second degree — Charged when, during the commission of the burglary, “the offender does not make an assault or battery” and weapons or explosives are not involved. Examples of a second-degree offense include a burglary on a dwelling (home), a building or vehicle that is occupied, an emergency vehicle or on a building where the intention is to steal controlled substances. If convicted, you could face up to 15 years in prison and substantial fines.
- Burglary in the first degree — The most serious charge carrying the greatest penalties, including up to 30 years in prison. This charge is leveled against those who are armed or become armed during the burglary, who harm another person during the commission of the crime, or who use a motor vehicle in entering the building and cause damage to the building in excess of $1,000.
Don’t let a burglary charge rob you of your freedom — contact us to schedule a free and confidential consultation
If you are facing a burglary rap, chances are you have more legal options than you may imagine. Reach out to the Tampa burglary attorneys at the All Criminal Defense Group. Contact us online or call 813-672-1900 schedule a time to tell us about your situation.
AFTER HOURS, please call 813-551-3903.